TWOMO Land Ambulance Service Grant

Ministry of Health
Assistant Deputy Minister
Emergency Health Services Division
5700 Yonge Street
6th Floor
Toronto ON M2M 4K5

March 5, 2024


Donna Stewart
Chief Administrative Officer
The Manitoulin-Sudbury District Services Board
Manitoulin-Sudbury DSB Paramedic Services
210 Mead Boulevard
Espanola ON P5E 1R9

Dear Donna Stewart:

Re: Ministry Agreement with The Manitoulin-Sudbury District Services Board effective the 28th day of January 2014 (the “Agreement”)

This letter is further to the recent letter from the Honourable Sylvia Jones, Deputy Premier and Minister of Health, in which she informed your organization that the Ministry of Health (the “ministry”) will provide The Manitoulin-Sudbury District Services Board up to $100,597 in additional base funding with respect to the Land Ambulance Services Grant for the provision of land ambulance services for Territories Without Municipal Organization (TWOMO) for the 2023 calendar year. This will bring the total maximum base funding available under the Agreement for the 2023 calendar year up to $2,909,759 for TWOMO.

Your grant will be adjusted in your electronic transfer payments and provided in semimonthly payments in the middle and at the end of each month.

We appreciate your cooperation with the ministry in managing your funding as
effectively as possible. You are expected to adhere to our reporting requirements, particularly for financial reporting, which is expected to be timely and accurate. It is also essential that you manage costs within your approved budget.

Please review the new TWOMO funding carefully. Should you require any further information or clarification, please contact Nicole Ding, Senior Financial Analyst, at 437¬335-3560 or by e-mail at

Thank you for your dedication and commitment to improving ambulance services in Ontario as we modernize and strengthen our public health care system and for all that you and your organization are doing to protect the health and safety of the people of Ontario.
Susan Picarello

Assistant Deputy Minister

c: Bruce Killah, Board Chair, The Manitoulin-Sudbury District Services Board 
   Paul Myre, Chief of Paramedic Services, The Manitoulin-Sudbury District Services Board
   Jim Yuill, Director, Financial Management Branch, Ministry of Health
   Rayomond Dinshaw, (A) Director, Fiscal Oversight & Performance Branch, Ministry of Health
   Alison Blair, Associate Deputy Minister, Health Integration and Partnerships, Ministry of Health
   Stuart Mooney, Director, Emergency Health Program Management and Delivery Branch, Ministry of Health
   Josée Lafleur, Senior Field Manager, North Field Office, Emergency Health Program Management and Delivery               Branch, Ministry of Health